Events Calendar

iCalendar fileiCalendar feedPrint

Hermitage Gala




2013 Hermitage Gala Co-Chairs Lee Ann Anderson and Ann Buchanan with Jackson Award Recipient Fred Thompson and Donelson Award Recipient Winfield Dunn

From left: The Honorable Fred D. Thompson, Lee Ann Anderson, Ann Buchanan, The Honorable Winfield C. Dunn



The Hermitage Gala

Friday, April 19, 2013



The Hermitage Gala is our biggest annual fundraising event. This year’s Gala took place on Friday, April 19th at Nashville Marriott at Vanderbilt. Gala Co-Chairs were Lee Ann Anderson and Ann Buchanan. Honorary Chairs were Mary Lynne and Steve Hewlett. The Jackson Award was presented to The Honorable Fred D. Thompson and the Donelson Award was presented to The Honorable Winfield C. Dunn. The Hermitage was pleased to recognize the exceptional support of Jackson National Life Insurance Company as Presidential Level sponsor of this event.


Donelson Award Recipient

Winfield C. Dunn

Jackson Award Recipient

Fred D. Thompson


Lee Ann Anderson

Ann Buchanan


Mary Lynne and Steve Hewlett


Drea Groeschel


Presidential Level

Jackson National Life Insurance Company

Congressional Level

Andrew Byrd & Co., LLC

Baker, Donelson, Bearman, Caldwell & Berkowitz, PC

Bridgestone Americas, Inc.


Hewlett Spencer, LLC

Standard Candy Co.

Cabinet Level

American Paper & Twine Co.

Anderson Benson Insurance


Gen Cap America

Nashville Convention & Visitors Bureau

Pinnacle Financial Partners

Rochford Realty & Construction Co. Inc.

State Level

Hall Strategies

H.G. Hill Realty

Infrastructure Corp. of America

Nashville Electric Service

The Comfort Group

Table Sponsors

Nancy and Don Barrett

Jones Bros. Construction

Sarah and Walter Knestrick

Emily J. Reynolds


Susan Andrews

Emme Baxter

Elizabeth Carrero

Susannah Graves

Susan Gregory

Drea Groeschel

Kaitlin Grubbs

Ellyn Gunness

Veronica Hawbaker

Pam King

Howard J, Kittell

Jim Knestrick

Sarah Knestrick

Debby Patterson Koch

Maggie Melendez

Phil Ponder

Emily J. Reynolds

Frances Spradley

Judy Wright


Lin and Bill Andrews

Mr. and Mrs. James W. Ayers

Annie Laurie Berry

Ann and Alex Buchanan

Carol and Frank Daniels III

Delta Anne Davis and Karl F. Dean

Betty and Marty Dickens

Lewis R. Donelson III

Mr. and Mrs. Darrell S. Freeman, Sr.

Carrie and Damon Hininger

Sarah and Walter Knestrick

Gina and Dick Lodge

Lynn and Jack May

Betty and Thomas McAnulty

Mr. and Mrs. Michael McWherter

Karen and Bruce Moore

Kathy and Pat Nevill

Mr. and Mrs. Richard Patton

Andrea and Charles Overby

Mr. and Mrs. John J. Sangervasi

Mr. and Mrs. Rick Scarola

Dolores and John Seigenthaler

Mr. and Mrs. James W. Spradley, Jr.

Mr. and Mrs. Govan Davidson White


Councilmember Megan Barry

Sarah Buchanan

Mrs. John R. Cheadle, Jr.

Amy Colton

Andrea Conte

Jane Buchanan Corcoran - In honor of Ann Buchanan

Mrs. Mark Deaton

Mrs. Edwin F. DeMoss

Virginia Dance Donelson

Betty Dunn

May Dean Eberling

Katherine Read Ezell

Karen M. Fleming

Cathy Gracey

Claire Cowart Haltom

Beth Harwell

Frances C. Jackson

Mrs. Granberry Jackson III

Mindy Jacoway

Pam King

Mrs. Robert W. Kitchel

Mrs. R. Craig Laine

Milah P. Lynn

Mrs. C. Taxon Malott

Sallie King Norton

Anne C. Parsons

Mrs. Philip M. Pfeffer

Deborah Pitts

Dolores W. Seigenthaler

Debora Seivers

Linda Sims

Mrs. Allen Steele

Patsy J. Stephenson

Katy Varney

Mrs. John S. Warner

Colleen Conway Welch

Holly Wilds


Lamar Alexander

George E. Barrett

Philip N. Bredesen, Jr.

Robert N. Buchanan III

Benjamin Caldwell, Jr.

Chase Cole

Overton Colton

Dr. Mark Deaton

Lewis R. Donelson III

Winfield Dunn

M.D. Goetz, Jr.

Bill Gracey

James Haltom

Douglas Henry

Victor S. Johnson III

Howard J. Kittell

R. Craig Laine

William L. Norton III

Dr. Philip M. Pfeffer

Charles H. Robinson

John L. Seigenthaler

Wilson Sims

Ridley Wills II


Mr. and Mrs. David F. Baker III

Amy and Overton Colton

Dr. and Mrs. Mark Deaton

Mrs. Edwin F. DeMoss

Mr. and Mrs. Matthew Dobson

Cathy and Bill Gracey

Douglas Henry

Kim and Bob Looney

Dr. and Mrs. Porter Meadows

Karen and Bruce Moore

Alison and John Murfee

Kim and Peter Oldham, In Honor of Frances Spradley

Mr. and Mrs. Richard Patton

Mr. and Mrs. Charles H. Robinson

Mrs. Allen Steele


Peyton Hoge

Knestrick by Design

Vee Design



The Honorable Fred D. Thompson will be presented the Jackson Award in recognition of his bold and impactful public service through the practice of law and in political office. Prior to serving as U. S. Senator from 1994 to 2003, Fred played a key role in the Senate Watergate Committee and has been a respected member of a number of national security and foreign relations boards and committees. Like Andrew Jackson, Fred has demonstrated leadership, conviction of principles and decisive action.

The Donelson Award, named after Lewis R. Donelson, great-great-great grandson of Andrew Jackson Donelson, will be presented to The Honorable Winfield C. Dunn in recognition of his service to the citizens of Tennessee. Much of Andrew Jackson’s legacy is based on his commitment to federal unity, and state unity was a key theme of Governor Dunn’s administration. He took many steps to lessen historical tensions between Tennessee’s three “Grand Divisions”. By executive order he changed state billboards from “Welcome to the Three States of Tennessee” to “Welcome to the Great State of Tennessee.”


The Hermitage Gala benefits the ongoing preservation of The Hermitage, Home of President Andrew Jackson, including educational programs, preservation of buildings and grounds, and conservation of extensive collections.